About Islamic World In Morocco

Muslims Counter

99.9 percent of the country's population.

Mother Language


The country was later referred to as the Far Maghreb in Arabic[38] as people in the ancient world believed that the sun rose from Japan (in Chinese Nihon: the place of sunrise)[39] and set in the Kingdom of Morocco (in Arabic Maghrib: the place of sunset).[ 40] While the country derived its name in European languages from the Latin word Morroch (in Latin: Morroch), which is a corruption of the name Marrakesh.[41] Sometimes the country was referred to by a name related to its capital: “Mauritania of Tangiers,” whose capital was Tangier, as well as the “Kingdom of Marrakesh” and “Kingdom of Fez” in reference to their known capitals at the time. Royal delegations and international treaties were signed by the Sultans of Morocco, sometimes in the name of the Sultan of Marrakesh and sometimes in the name of the Sultan of Fez.[ 42] In parallel with this and to refer to the Maghreb region in general, medieval Arab historians used the term “the Maghreb”[38] while the Europeans used the term “the Barbary Coast”[43][44] to refer to three regions: the Lower Maghreb (Africa) or Tunisia. present day), Central Morocco (present-day Algeria), and Far Morocco (present-day Kingdom of Morocco).

Morocco (/məˈrɒk/ ),[note 3] officially the Kingdom of Morocco,[note 4] is a country in the Maghreb region of North Africa. It overlooks the Mediterranean Sea to the north and the Atlantic Ocean to the west, and has land borders with Algeria to the east, and the disputed territory of Western Sahara to the south. Morocco also claims the Spanish exclaves of Ceuta, Melilla and Peñón de Vélez de la Gomera, and several small Spanish-controlled islands off its coast.[15] It spans an area of 446,550 km2 (172,410 sq mi)[16] or 712,550 km2 (275,120 sq mi),[b], while 446,300 km2 (172,300 sq mi)[17] and 710,850 km2 (274,460 sq mi),[b] are of land, and with a population of roughly 37 million Citizens. Its official and predominant religion is Islam, and the official languages are Arabic and Berber (Tamazight); French and the Moroccan dialect of Arabic are also widely spoken. Moroccan identity and culture is a mix of Arab, Berber, African and European cultures. Its capital is Rabat, while its largest city is Casablanca.[18]

The region constituting Morocco has been inhabited since the Paleolithic era over 300,000 years ago, and the first Moroccan state was established by Idris I in 788. It was subsequently ruled by a series of independent dynasties, reaching its zenith as a regional power in the 11th and 12th centuries, under the Almoravid and Almohad dynasties, when it controlled most of the Iberian Peninsula and the Maghreb.[19] Centuries of Arab migration to the Maghreb since the 7th century shifted the demographic scope of Morocco. In the 15th and 16th centuries, Morocco faced external threats to its sovereignty, with Portugal seizing some territory and the Ottoman Empire encroaching from the east. The Marinid and Saadi dynasties otherwise resisted foreign domination, and Morocco was the only North African nation to escape Ottoman dominion. The 'Alawi dynasty, which rules the country to this day, seized power in 1631, and over the next two centuries expanded diplomatic and commercial relations with the Western world. Morocco's strategic location near the mouth of the Mediterranean drew renewed European interest; in 1912, France and Spain divided the country into respective protectorates, reserving an international zone in Tangier. Following intermittent riots and revolts against colonial rule, in 1956, Morocco regained its independence and reunified.

Since independence, Morocco has remained relatively stable. It has the fifth-largest economy in Africa and wields significant influence in both Africa and the Arab world; it is considered a middle power in global affairs and holds membership in the Arab League, the Arab Maghreb Union, the Union for the Mediterranean, and the African Union.[20] Morocco is a unitary semi-constitutional monarchy with an elected parliament. The executive branch is led by the King of Morocco and the prime minister, while legislative power is vested in the two chambers of parliament: the House of Representatives and the House of Councillors. Judicial power rests with the Constitutional Court, which may review the validity of laws, elections, and referendums.[21] The king holds vast executive and legislative powers, especially over the military, foreign policy and religious affairs; he can issue decrees called dahirs, which have the force of law, and can also dissolve the parliament after consulting the prime minister and the president of the constitutional court.

Morocco claims ownership of the non-self-governing territory of Western Sahara, which it has designated its Southern Provinces. In 1975, after Spain agreed to decolonise the territory and cede its control to Morocco and Mauritania, a guerrilla war broke out between those powers and some of the local inhabitants. In 1979, Mauritania relinquished its claim to the area, but the war continued to rage. In 1991, a ceasefire agreement was reached, but the issue of sovereignty remained unresolved. Today, Morocco occupies two-thirds of the territory, and efforts to resolve the dispute have thus far failed to break the political deadlock.

Discover This Country Mosques

Searching for nearby Mosque ?

Download Prayer Now, The most Reliable Islamic Smart Application, And Easily Find Nearby Mosques.